Keep Your Magic Alive

I used to have a detailed list for Santa, one that had every single toy I had seen on television or in a store the entire year. I braced myself for Christmas morning, when I could run into the living room and see what Santa had in fact left for me. It isn’t like that for me anymore. The gifts don’t matter to me, and as much as I love everything I have gotten for Christmas, I don’t need it or pine for it like I once did. It’s unsettling to realize how times have changed, but it isn’t a bad thing at all. I love Christmas as much as I always have, but for so many different reasons now than just getting presents.

I grew up in church knowing that Jesus is the “reason for the season,” and He remains the reason I celebrate Christmas.That will be something that never changes, no matter how old I get or how things might be different. A lot can be taken from that night in Bethlehem when Jesus was born. The most magnificent gift ever given in this world came in a very unglamorous way, so why do we feel the need to be so over the top with our presents and every single other thing that comes with Christmas now? Christmas gifts are a wonderful thing, and they are a way to show the people in your life how much you love and appreciate them. Don’t make presents the reason for your season though, because they will fade.

Every family has their own traditions, and mine is no different. I love putting up the Christmas tree and Nativity scene. My favorite thing is the advent calendar we have hanging in our kitchen. We eat pancakes every Christmas morning, and if I was asked what my favorite tradition is, I would say that. 

You know what my favorite part of Christmas is now though? My nephew opening his presents and playing with his toys is one of the most magical things left in my world. You can see Santa in his eyes, and especially now that he is beginning to love Santa I can’t wait for the years to come. 

Christmas is a cycle, and even though I don’t have kids of my own it is apparent to me how Christmas stays fun for adults. First you are a child enjoying the magic of Santa, but then you get to play Santa and create the magic. I think that’s more amazing than getting any gift ever could be. You aren’t just giving them gifts; you are giving them magic and love in a world that does its best to put out any trace of excitement and magic. 

I can do without the gifts now, because I’ve realized just how trivial they are in the scheme of things. What I couldn’t do without at is the Holy aspect of Christmas or the family and friends that I’m surrounded by throughout the entire season. I don’t ever want to know what that’s like, and as far as I’m concerned as long as I’ve got those things in my life, I could never receive a present again and I would be fine. 

Leave a Reply

